Does God Look Like You?

At the moment, there happens to be an invisible, undetectable squirrel in the tree beyond my window.  Although the squirrel is undetectable, I have been debating all morning whether it resembles a real squirrel or is more of a spirit.

Personally, I don’t see how my inquiry into the undetectable squirrel in my yard is any different from the dialog I recently witnessed between two believers.  One was accusing the other of lacking a sophisticated view of god because the other thought god looked like a human.  “There’s a difference between a physical body and a spiritual body”, he said, “God is a spirit.  Do you really think He looks like you?”

It’s beyond me how you can posit an indivisible, undetectable squirrel, and then argue over what it looks like.  But what am I missing?

8 thoughts on “Does God Look Like You?

I'd love to hear from you. Comments make my day. Please feel free to share your thoughts and feelings!

